top of page

Latest Hospital Stay…

After going over 2 years without a hospital stay I guess it was time. I went to the doctor about my bladder stones and while I was there my blood pressure dropped to 60 over 47. They wanted to get an ambulance but I said no my mom can take me to the hospital in Naples. When I got there my blood pressure was 47 over 23. As you can imagine they immediately admitted me. The drop in blood pressure is called Autonomic Dysreflexia. This occurs when I am unable to feel what is happening in my body. My body will send a signal to a place that can be felt or seen, in this case it was my blood pressure. This was letting me know that I had an infection somewhere my body. As it turns out I have a bladder infection probably because of the bladder stones. I had to start antibiotics immediately. They only kept me in the hospital for two days thank goodness, I do not like staying at the hospital. Autonomic Dysreflexia can be very confusing but at the same time it can be life saving. If this would've gone ignored I could either die from the infection or from the drop in blood pressure. Yes now there's two problems. My blood pressure will probably be unstable until the infection is gone. It is just something else that I have to check every day. The incision that you see by my neck is a central line to the main vein going directly into my heart. This has to be done instead of going into my arm because they cannot find my veins ever. Since the accident my veins are very difficult to see and find. After about 15 tries using the ultrasound machine, yes there were needles all over my bed LOL, they finally did the central line. I am at home now and doing good, I am taking antibiotics for the next seven days and we will know after that what is happening.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page